Previous Page  115 / 205 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 115 / 205 Next Page
Page Background

Sustainable Destination Management

Strategies in the OIC Member Countries



The Danube Tourism Corridor


Figure 36: The Danube Tourism Corridor Map

Source: Danube Competence Center

Although the Danube River, the second largest in Europe, has connected people, countries, and

traditions for thousands of years, during the Cold War, the Danube separated Slovakia

(Czechoslovakia) and Hungary from Austria, and communist Romania and Bulgaria from the

more open, independent-minded Yugoslavia. With the end of the Cold War, the Eastern

European countries of the Danube region started to emerge as tourism destinations, and it was

in 2010 that the idea of closer cooperation started to materialize. Similarly, Western European

destinations such as Germany and Austria saw the potential for cross-border tourism in areas

such as cycling.


The Danube connects ten countries: Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia,

Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, and Moldova. One activity in particular that connects all countries

in a seamless way is river cruising, although even today, many cruises end in Budapest or

Belgrade, and only few reach the Danube Delta, apart from the fact that the associated economic


"The Danube Cycle Path from Donaueschingen to Budapest," Komoot, accessed October 12, 2019,